A two-stroke penalty dented Patrick Reed's hopes of victory in The Bahamas, with the Texan adamant he did not intend to break the rules.

Penalised Reed did not intend to improve lie


Patrick Reed stressed he did not intend to improve his lie in a bunker at the Hero World Challenge after being awarded a two-stroke penalty.

The Texan was penalised for his actions on the 11th hole at the Albany Golf Club in The Bahamas, as video footage showed him twice hacking away sand during practice swings.

Golf's rules state that players cannot improve their ability to play a shot by "removing or pressing down sand or loose soil".

Reed was informed of the penalty shortly after his round, and the former Masters champion goes into the final 18 holes three shots back from leader Gary Woodland.

"It was in a full footprint and I felt my club was that far behind the ball when I was taking a practice swing," Reed said. "It was obviously hitting a bit of sand, though I didn't feel any drag.

"But when they brought it up for me [on the TV] I definitely saw it drag and, because of that, it is a two-shot penalty even though I didn't feel like it would have affected my lie.

"Every time I get in one of those bunkers I am scared to get my club close to it [the ball]. I accept the two-shot penalty, even though there was not any intent as I was far enough away.

"I think with a different camera angle they would have seen it was not improving the lie as I was far enough away from the golf ball.

"I don’t ever put the club directly behind the ball in a situation like that as I am scared of it moving. Intent is a big part but with only one camera angle it is a 50-50 battle when you are being assessed for anything like that.

"I told them there was no intent and it was far enough away from the ball, but they didn't have another camera angle to show that and they felt it might have been improving the lie.

"At the end of the day you have got to let things roll off your shoulders and I still have one round to play tomorrow. If I stew over something, it is my word against their word and because they only have one camera angle, I don't really have a choice.

"After seeing it brush some sand, they thought that was a breach and, in the Rules of Golf, if you improve your lie, it is a penalty. At the end of the day you have to accept it and move on."



The Masters: Opta facts

Masters 2018: The best Opta facts

Ahead of the first major of the year, we take a look at the best Opta facts surrounding the 82nd edition of the Masters at Augusta.


Augusta to host women's amateurs

Augusta to host pre-Masters women's amateur event

On the eve of the Masters, it has been announced that from 2019 Augusta will host a women's amateur event prior to the iconic major.


Langer: Woods can win another major

Determined Woods can win another major, insists Langer

After seeing Tiger Woods make the cut on his Masters comeback, Bernhard Langer believes the American can win a major again.


Ko delighted to end barren run

Tearful Ko delighted to end barren run

After two years without a title on the LPGA Tour, Lydia Ko was back in the winner's enclosure on Sunday, bringing plenty of tears.


Smoltz to tee off in Senior Open

Baseball Hall of Famer John Smoltz set to tee off in U.S. Senior Open

Smoltz will tee off at 9:21 a.m. ET Thursday with Jim McGovern and Bob Ford at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs.